Lisagor Finalists

Peter Lisagor Awards — May 3, 2013

Check out the LIST OF WINNERS for the 2011 Chicago Headline Club’s Peter Lisagor Awards. 


About Peter Lisagor

Peter Lisagor, the Chicago Daily News’ Washington bureau chief from 1959 to 1976, was one of the nation’s most respected and well-known journalists. Known for his precision and wit, Lisagor gained national recognition for his syndicated column and appearances on such public affairs broadcasts as “Meet the Press,” “Face the Nation” and “Washington Week in Review” until his death in 1976. A Nieman Fellow, Lisagor was a recipient of the Newspaper Guild’s Page One award, the George Foster Peabody Broadcasting award, the William Allen White Award and Edward Weintal Prize for diplomatic reporting.

The Chicago Headline Club, the largest Society of Professional Journalists chapter in the country, established the Peter Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow Lisagor’s outstanding example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism. Founded as Sigma Delta Chi in 1909, the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) is widely acknowledged as the voice of journalism and a leader in recognizing members of the profession for outstanding achievement.

Lisagor Winners & Finalists

Check the list and see who won, and what the judges said.

2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1995