Vote: SPJ National Honors Candidates


SPJ leaders are currently in the final stages of selecting recipients for the annual national honors. The awards honor individuals and groups that have impacted journalism and First Amendment issues over the past year. All SPJ members are invited to view national honors candidates and leave comments for the SPJ Executive Committee’s consideration. To comment, you must be logged in to the Members section of the SPJ website and provide your SPJ membership number on the feedback form. Anonymous feedback will not be accepted or reviewed. The identities of those offering comments will not be disclosed outside of the SPJ executive board and the headquarters staff. Click here for a full list of the candidates and to be directed to the feedback form.

The following individuals are Chicago Headline Club members and need your support – log into your SPJ account and vote now!

Distinguished Teaching in Journalism Award
First Year of Consideration
— Derek Willis, Northwestern University

Distinguished Teaching in Journalism Award
Second Year of Consideration
— Michele Bitoun, Northwestern University
— Suzanne McBride, Columbia College Chicago

Howard S. Dubin Outstanding Pro Member Award
— Hilary Sizemore Fosdal, Chicago Headline Club