Chicago Headline Club Celebrates 2023 Peter Lisagor Award Winners

Plus, the 2024-2025 Chicago Headline Club Board slate is announced

The 2023 Peter Lisagor Awards, hosted by the Chicago Headline Club and Foundation at the Union League Club of Chicago, Friday May 10, 2024. (credit Michael Izquierdo)

By Jillian Melero

The Chicago journalism community celebrated its wins at the 2023 Peter Lisagor Awards, hosted by the Chicago Headline Club and Foundation. CHC welcomed 255 guests to the 47th annual Lisagor Awards, held May 10, 2024 at the Union League Club of Chicago, and hosted by WTTW’s Joanna Hernandez.

This year’s awards received 847 entries for 79 categories. The Club and community congratulated 82 award winners, including:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award honorees, Craig Dellimore, Fred Mitchell and Roz Varon!
  • Anne Keegan Award Winner, Christy Gutowski
  • Watchdog Award winners, WBEZ Chicago and the Investigative Project on Race and Equity
  • Les Brownlee Scholarship recipient, Patience Hurston
  • and Chicago Headline Club Foundation internship grant recipients the Investigative Project on Race and Equity and Borderless Magazine

See the full list of award winners: These are the winners of the 47th Annual Peter Lisagor Awards

Watch the dedication videos for our Lifetime Achievement honorees on the Chicago Headline Club YouTube channel.

Photos and Feedback

Attendees can find their Peter Lisagor Awards ceremony photos here!

Please feel free to save and share the photos, just be sure to credit our photographer, Michael Izquierdo

Please give us your feedback about the Lisagors Award Ceremony and suggestions for future ceremonies by filling out our survey.

What did you think of the Lisagor Awards ceremony? 

2024 – 2025 Board Announcement

The Lisagor Awards ceremony is also where the Chicago Headline Club announces its new and returning board members.

New board members for the 2024 – 2026 term:

  • Igor Studenkov, Freelance
  • Corli Jay, Crain’s Chicago Business
  • Mila Koumpilova, Chalkbeat Chicago
  • Sarah Herrera, WBBM Newsradio 105.9/780
  • Joseph S. Pete, The Times of Northwest Indiana
  • Darcel Rockett, The Chicago Tribune

The 2024-2025 Executive Board: 

  • President: Michael Puente, WBEZ
  • President Ex-Officio, VP Programming: Jillian Melero, Connect Puerto Rico
  • VP of FOIA: Jeff Arnold, NewsNation
  • VP of Awards: Matt Krupnick, Freelance
  • Treasurer: Greg Karp, NerdWallet
  • Secretary: Susan Stevens, Freelance

Returning board members for 2024 – 2025:

  • Courtney Kueppers, WBEZ
  • Ray Long, Chicago Tribune
  • Howard Dubin, Manufacturers’ News
  • Jewél Jackson, Better Government Association
  • Marla Krause, Retired
  • Matt Krupnick, Freelance
  • Richelle Rogers, Loyola University
  • Shruti Singh, Bloomberg
  • Amanda Vinicky, WTTW News
  • Jake Wittich, Block Club Chicago
  • Amy Yee, Bloomberg CityLab
  • Mary Hall, Freelance

The board will have its final meeting of the 2023 – 2024 term in June, before breaking for the summer planning period in July and August.