Board Minutes – 09/2002


Chicago Headline Club
Board of Directors Meeting

September 3, 2002

President Molly McDonough called the meeting to order at 8 a.m.

Present: Molly, Christine Tatum, Steve Rynkiewicz, Howard Dubin, Diane Monk, Ben Bradley, Lucio Guerrero, Paula Brien, Mary Myers, Bob Roberts, Andrea Darlas, Abdon Pallasch, Carlos Hernandez Gomez and Susan S. Stevens.

President’s report:
Molly said Ameet Sachdev will chair Brown Bag lunches, Kate Marquess and Stephanie Cahill will be Meet-n-Greet co-chairs, Carlos Hernandez Gomez will be Burger night chairman.

A deputy treasurer and Brownlee Series volunteers are still needed.

The Journalist will be out this month.

The Web site went down during the last Brown Bag and was out all weekend. Molly said it is time to separate from Northwestern University. She said we could probably get our own ISP for $10-30 a month. Steve said it will cost more. Molly said it will be explored and brought back to the board.

Molly is drafting a letter to news managers, asking them to consider the Headline Club as a source for programming. Such things as personal finance nights and ethics programs might be used. We could send speakers to newsrooms to coordinate programs with their needs.

Lifetime Achievement Awards:
Howard Dubin reported the committee selections: Les Brownlee, John Callaway, Bernie Judge, Irv Kupcinet, Charles Nicodemus, Lois Wille and Ed Rooney. A motion to approve these seven was passed after discussion of others.

The committee was composed of Howard, Karen Callaway, Abdon Pallasch, Carlos Hernandez Gomez and Susan Stevens.

Molly said Casey Bukrow plans a program Oct. 12.

Molly said a letter to the White House was being written to oppose FBI investigation of the Senate Intelligence Committee leaks to CNN. Sen. Richard Durbin was a holdout on releasing notes. We’ll do a letter of encouragement to Durbin.

Bob Roberts said he sent letters to Governors State University and Illinois Attorney General Jim Ryan about the GSU newspaper controversy. No response yet.

Molly reported Pennsylvania set rules for legislative press credentials. Bob and Ben Bradley said Chicago police spokesman Dave Bayless said there were still no signs of the credentialing equipment Chicago police ordered.

Steve Rynkiewicz said the entry deadline will be Jan. 17 and the awards banquet April 25. Several new subcategories will be offered, including Collaboration, a joint effort by two or more news organizations, Science Features, for print and broadcast, Headline Writing and Documentary.
Any subcategory with fewer than three submissions will not be judged. Submissions will be sent back.

Molly said a new directory probably won’t be ready for the Brownlee Series but will be by the end of the year.

Brownlee Series:
Christine Tatum asked every board member to sell five tickets to the Oct. 4 Lifetime Achievement Awards program. Sept. 17 was set for a telemarketing evening for events. Oct. 12 will be workshops.

Oct. 4 awards program tickets are $40 for members, $50 for non-members, $20 for students and $325-600 for tables. The awards program will be at the Chicago Athletic Association, 12 S. Michigan Ave. Helen Thomas will keynote. Co-hosts are Jim Avila, Jim O’Shea and John Cruickshank.

Next meeting:
The October board meeting will be Oct. 10, 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., at Ruth’s Chris Steak House, 431 N. Dearborn St., before the journalism education and First Amendment theory reception featuring Bill Gaines, Stanley Fish, Carolyn Hulse, Loren Ghiglione and Barry Price.

Meeting adjourned at 8:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Susan S. Stevens