Steve Franklin to lead 2011-12 Headline Club board

Steve Franklin, ethnic media director for the Community Media Workshop, will lead the new Chicago Headline Club Board of Directors, which takes office July 1. He and the other officers were elected during a short membership meeting held during the Lisagors Awards dinner Friday, May 6 at the Hotel Allegro in Chicago. 

Officers include:

President-elect and FOI vice president — Alden Loury, Chicago Reporter publisher

Membership vice president — Rummana Hussain, Chicago Sun-Times courts reporter/metro editor

Programming vice president — Amy Lee, SouthtownStar assistant city editor

Treasurer — Flynn McRoberts, Bloomberg News Chicago bureau chief

Secretary — Aimee DeBat, president/editorial director, DeBat Media

President ex-officio – Susan S. Stevens, freelancer

Board members, whose terms expire June 30, 2012:

Abdon Pallasch, Chicago Sun-Times political reporter

George Garties, Associated Press chief of bureau for Illinois and Indiana

Fernando Diaz, Hoy managing editor

Brian Pitts, assistant public relations director, Mayer Brown

Jon Seidel, Sun-Times Media staff writer

Randi Belisomo, WGN-TV reporter

Felicia Middlebrooks, WBBM-AM anchor

Adrienne Samuels Gibbs, Ebony senior editor

Board members, whose terms expire June 30, 2013:

 Kristen Schorsch, Chicago Tribune reporter

Howard Dubin, Manufacturers News chairman and treasurer

Suzanne McBride, associate chair Columbia College journalism department

Beth Konrad, professional in residence, journalism professor, Loyola University

 Robert Elder, regional editor

Anna Tarkov, freelancer

Rafer Weigel, WLS-TV weekend anchor and sports reporter

Odette Yousef, Chicago Public Radio reporter

CHC Pesident Steve Franklin joined CMW after his retirement from the Chicago Tribune. He worked earlier at the Detroit Free Press, Philadelphia Bulletin and Miami Herald. He reported from around the world and has written several books. He also has tutored journalists in Egypt and India recently.

Elder, Tarkov, Weigel and Yousef will be joining the board July 1 when the slate takes effect. They were chosen by the current board and will replace board members rotating off: Steve Edwards, Tony Noce, Hilary Fosdal and Ken Davis. We thank them for their great service!