foia fest logo

FOIA Fest 2022 session videos

April 17, 2022 Tiyen Simmons 0

Couldn’t make it to FOIA Fest 2022 or looking for a refresher? These recorded sessions will take you from the very beginning of the process to exploring specific issues faced by journalists and others using FOIA in their work. FOIA Fest Keynote: Marina Walker Guevara In this FOIA Fest keynote […]

2021 Watchdog Award winner: ‘Buried Secrets’ by WBEZ

May 6, 2022 Amanda Vinicky 0

The Chicago Headline Club, thanks to the generous support of the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation, offers an annual Watchdog Award for enterprising journalism that defends and protects everyday folks. Our 2021 Winner: “Buried Secrets” – WBEZ. Dan Mihalopoulos, Alex Keefe, Angela Rozas O’Toole Judges said: “The investigation overcame court challenges […]

These are the categories for the 2021 Peter Lisagor Awards

January 4, 2022 admin 0

These are the categories for the 2021 Peter Lisagor awards, including dozens of new categories designed to reflect the biggest stories and coverage priorities from the past year, including new awards for reporting on COVID-19 and diversity issues. We’ve also added more online and digital categories and removed some circulation […]

Deadline for the 2021 Peter Lisagor Awards EXTENDED

January 4, 2022 Mike Ewing 0

The Chicago Headline Club is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Peter Lisagor Awards! Enter here by clicking on “Chicago Headline Club: The 45th Annual Peter Lisagor Awards.” Due to issues with the Chicago Headline Club website, we have extended the deadline to Feb. 7 and will accept additional entries […]

Now Hiring: Lisagors Coordinator

December 28, 2021 admin 0

The Chicago Headline Club is seeking a qualified journalist to help plan next year’s Peter Lisagor awards. This job offers a $2,500 stipend for work between Dec. 1 and May 31, typically about 5 hours per week. The ideal candidate will have good organization skills, a journalism background, and a […]

Apply here: 2022 FOIAFest Boot Camp

December 20, 2021 Administrator 0

The Chicago Headline Club is now accepting applications for its 2022 FOIAFest Boot Camp, the two-week training program launched last year and integrated into the annual FOIAFest conference. The Boot Camp is intended to support the work of early career journalists of color in Chicago and will partner reporters who […]

October Newsletter: How can we help local journalists?

October 4, 2021 admin 0

A NOTE FROM THE PRESIDENT Thank you. I can think of no better way to begin this message than a note of appreciation for the role you —Chicago’s journalists — have played these past 19 months in providing understanding, uncovering inequalities and wrongdoing, and sharing information with audiences amid the […]