Stacy St. Clair wins the 2020 Anne Keegan Award

May 7, 2021 Administrator 0

The Anne Keegan award honors journalists who write stories that capture the dignity and spirit of ordinary men and women. It was created in 2012 to honor Anne Keegan, a longtime writer for the Chicago Tribune whose work was distinguished by compassion, character and courage. Her stories often profiled everyday people […]

2020 Watchdog Award finalists announced

May 7, 2021 Administrator 0

Sponsored by the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation, the Chicago Headline Club each year awards a cash prize for enterprising journalism that defends and protects everyday folks. The Watchdog Award honors Chicago-area news reporting that calls attention to situations in which the public is being harmed or poorly served.  This year, […]

Deadline Extended! Nominations for the 2020 Peter Lisagor Awards

December 18, 2020 admin 0

The Chicago Headline Club has extended its deadline for accepting nominations for the 2020 Peter Lisagor Awards. The new deadline is midnight Friday, Feb. 12, and will incur a $10 late entry fee. Enter the contest here by clicking on “2020 Chicago Headline Club: The 44th Annual Peter Lisagor Awards.” […]

Lolly Bowean wins the 2019 Anne Keegan Award

May 15, 2020 Robert Elder 0

Created in 2012 to honor longtime Chicago Tribune writer Anne Keegan, this award honors journalists who write stories that capture the “dignity and spirit of the common man.” This year’s winner of the Anne Keegan Award is Lolly Bowean. Bowean is being honored for her deeply-reported and beautifully-written stories about life […]