Free memberships & renewals for Lisagor finalists and winners

"Chicago" by Nick Moulds is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Every finalist and winner of a Lisagor Award this year will receive a free membership to the Headline Club and the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). If you’re named as a finalist or winner (no “staff” awards)— you’ll get a free membership or renewal for a year, but we need your help to collect your contact information. So, please stay engaged with us…

…and fill out this form.

And let us know what programs you’d like to see in the future and if you’d like to volunteer with us. This offer is good for anyone who was announced as a finalist or winner in the 2019 Lisagor Awards, announced on May 15, 2020.

The Chicago Headline Club is the largest chapter of SPJ in the nation. We provide training, scholarships, awards and community for our members. Our year-round programs include FOIAfest, the Lisagor Awards and tech workshops. Our professional members also provide mentorship, feedback and networking opportunities for student journalists and freelancers. Since 1921, we’ve administered grants and scholarships to investigative and student journalists—$134,000 in the last five years alone.

Each year, we celebrate the achievements of more than 300 Chicago journalists at our annual Lisagor Awards. We also support the Ethics AdviceLine for Journalists, which helps journalists steer through ethical dilemmas.

A membership with SPJ not only means supporting our mission to protect and improve the free press, but it’s also invaluable for professional education, networking and hearing about job openings.

You also get Quill magazine four times a year and SPJ-specific perks, like discounts on the AP Stylebook, hotels and other services.

Support. Protect. Connect.