Board Minutes – 03/2003


Chicago Headline Club
Board of Directors Meeting

March 12, 2003

8:00 a.m. – call to order.

Present: President Molly McDonough, president-elect Ben Bradley, Casey Bukro, John Camden, Ed Cooper, Lucio Guerrero, Bob Roberts, Phil Potempa, Christine Tatum, Steve Rynkiewicz, Susan S. Stevens and Jessica Diehl of Columbia College.

Minutes from previous meeting were approved with one change.

President’s report: Molly said a website update is in progress. Committee chairs should check the site. A students page will be created shortly.

An officer and board member slating committee for the coming year was chosen: Ben, Bob, Susan, Lillian Williams and Stephanie Cahill.

Molly said the PR Newswire grammar slammer attracted 34 people, even though she thought it would be the most lightly attended event in the series. Ethics is almost full. She asked that profits, about $500 a session, be transferred to the internship-scholarship fund. Approved.

Molly distributed an updated calendar. At a glance: March 18 meet and greet at Palaggi’s with Doug Underwood, March 25, PRN program Writing Part 1, March 28, Brown Bag with bureau reporters discussing coverage, April 4 Burger Night, April 8 PRN, April 11 Brown Bag with Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan at the Sun Times, April 25, Lisagor Awards, May 2 Burger Night, May 14 PRN, May 15 board meeting at 5:30 before Membership Night meeting, May 30, Brown Bag with top spokespeople.

Ethics Award: Casey presented six. The board voted for the Daily Southtown on a voice vote, nothing most of the others were excellent journalism but not ethics issues. Christine proposed that the Tribune be honored for firing Bob Greene. It passed on a 5-3 vote with 2 abstentions, John and Susan. Casey declined to vote on any because it was his report to the board.

Lisagor: Steve said finalists would be firmed up in the next couple of days. There were 740 entries. Dinners might be $60 for members, $65-75 for non-members.

Students: Art sent a report on the high school journalism contest. The winners are: Deerfield, the second year in a row as champion, Stevenson, second as runner-up, Prospect, Northside College Prep and Glenbard North. Evanston and Sandburg received honorable mentions.

Membership: John said he is still working on forms and actively recruiting students for work. He hopes to have a member directory in the next month or so.

Website: In further exploration of an alternate to Northwestern’s server, John volunteered to be on a web server committee.

The next meeting will be at 8 a.m. April 9 in Tribune Tower. Molly noted the May meeting will be at 5:30 p.m. before at Membership Night.

Meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Susan S. Stevens