Board Minutes – 04/2005


Chicago Headline Club
Board of Directors Meeting

April 11, 2005

President Ben Bradley called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m.

President: Ben, Casey Bukro, Meg Tebo, Jason Jedlinski, Michelle Stevens, Deb Cohen, Abdon Pallasch, Howard Schlossberg, Molly McDonough, Phil Potempa, Kirsten McCreary and Susan S. Stevens.

Slating: Meg presented committee recommendations, which the board accepted. Ben said chapter elections will be on Membership Night Wed. May 25. Since the meeting, Harry Caray’s, 33 W. Kinzie St., was selected for the venue. Meeting will start at 5:30 p.m. Ben said it will also be a social night for CHC.

Ethics: Casey said the committee considered five nominees and split, with two votes for Anna Davlanes of NBC5 and two for John Cruickshank of the Sun-Times. After discussion and vote, the board chose both Davlantes and Cruickshank as Ethics in Journalism award winners.

Minutes of the last meeting were approved.

Membership: Jason said CHC has about 450 members

Treasurer’s report: Howard Dubin sent a 9-month report showing total income of $69,301.31, total expenses of $50,546.33, operating bank account with $57,844.08 and Scudder government money fund of $73,202.59 for a total of $131,046.67.

FOIA: Lisa Madigan was nominated for an SPJ Sunshine Award.

Programs: Best wishes to Andy Dunning. For the Region 5 Conference, 5,000 postcards and packets were sent to journalists and students in eight states.

Foundation: Meg said it will announce a Watchdog Award and Fund at Lisagor. A Nov. 17 fundraiser at Kendall College will be a Book Bash. Ilyce Glink needs headline authors for this event.

Lisagor: Jason said at the time of the board meeting, ticket sales were low. It will be Fri. April 29 at Westin Chicago River North, 320 N. Dearborn St.

May: No board meeting on the second Tuesday because of Membership Night.

Ben adjourned the meeting at 1:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Susan S. Stevens