Board Minutes – 05/2007

On Thursday, May 24, some 40 members and future members of the Chicago Headline Club attended the club’s Annual Membership Night and Election at Harry Caray’s in Chicago.

The meeting was called to order by incoming president Kristen McQueary, who gave special thanks to Jason Jedlinski for his efforts as president in the past year. Susan Stevens, outgoing secretary, was honored for her 18 years of service to the CHC board.

Members voted unanimously in favor of the proposed slate of officers.

They include:
President: Kristen McQueary, Daily Southtown
VP Membership, President-Elect: Brian Wellner, Hyde Park Herald
VP Programming: Nate Hernandez, Associated Press
VP FOI: Phil Kadner, Daily Southtown
Treasurer: Howard Dubin, Manufacturers’ News
Secretary: Deb Cohen, Reuters America
Immediate past president: Jason Jedlinski, Tribune Interactive

Directors through June 2008
Milbert O. Brown Jr., Chicago Tribune
Lisa Donovan, Sun-Times
Jacqueline Fitzgerald, Chicago Tribune
Christian “Fuzz” Hogan, CNN
Suzanne McBride, Columbia College
Bonnie McGrath, attorney and freelancer
Dawn Reiss, freelancer
Jon Seidel, Post-Tribune, Indiana

Directors through June 2009
Esther Cepeda, Sun-Times
Melisa Goh,
Jane Hirt, RedEye
James Kelleher, Reuters America
Abdon Pallasch, Sun-Times
Laura Putre, freelancer
Howard Schlossberg, Columbia College
Steve Walsh, Bloomberg News

The meeting was adjourned.

Deborah Cohen