Board Minutes – 04/2011

Chicago Headline Club board meeting minutes

April 8, 2011 at Bloomberg News

Start: 9:14 a.m.

In attendance: Hilary Fosdal, Ken Davis, Suzanne McBride, Brian Pitts, Kristen Schorsch, Steve Edwards, Sue Stevens, Kathy Catrambone, Steve Franklin, Howard Dubin and Flynn McRoberts. Aimee DeBat and Abdon Pallasch were on the phone.

Sue Stevens reported about the SPJ regional conference last week.

Executive director Kathy Catrambone provided details about the upcoming Peter Lisagor awards banquet, including the menu and schedule of the evening. 

The board discussed the slate for next year’s board leadership. 

The March minutes were unanimously approved.

Howard Dubin presented the treasurer’s report. As of April 7, 2011, the club’s total assets were $111,603.54, and total assets for the Chicago Headline Club Foundation were $64,325.66.

Sue Stevens reported that the University of Illinois at Chicago is crunching data for the access survey for journalists.

Hilary Fosdal reported that the club received 98 new members last year, and 166 renewed for a total of 264 members.

Ken Davis updated the board about programming efforts. James Janega of the Chicago Tribune has decided not to do a social media program. Barbara Iverson from Columbia College Chicago is expected to host a social media program in May.

Board member Randi Belisomo recently received three student scholarship applications.

Adjourned: 10:28 a.m.

—- Secretary Kristen Schorsch