Nominations are now closed for the 2019 Peter Lisagor Awards!

We’ve now passed the deadline for the 2019 Peter Lisagor Awards.

Tickets for the May 15, 2020, event will be on sale shortly.

Previously: Work must have been published or aired between Jan. 1, 2019, and Dec. 31, 2019. Entries must be the original work of journalists in Illinois or who work for news media based in the state or northwest Indiana. Please review the categories below.

All nominations must meet standards set forth in the Society of Professional Journalists’ Code of Ethics. Entities that are principally advocacy organizations are not eligible. Entries should include all related corrections, clarifications or retractions.

Please note that through January 19, 2020, each EARLY BIRD entry will cost $50 for non-members; $30 for Chicago Headline Club members. After that, through January 31, 2020 each entry will cost $70 for non-members; $50 for Chicago Headline Club members. Join now and save.

Entries are judged by an impartial SPJ chapter outside Illinois. Winners will be announced at our annual Lisagor Awards dinner on Friday, May 15, 2020 at the Union League Club.

For information on the categories, check out our complete list here.

To enter:

  1. Go to
  2. Click “contestant login”
  3. Click on “open call login” on the lower right side of the screen. If you entered previous Lisagor Award contests, your email and password should be the same. If this is your first time entering the Lisagor Awards, click on “Create your Open Call account” and follow the prompts.
  4. Select “2019 Chicago Headline Club: The 43rd Annual Peter Lisagor Awards” from the list of contests