These are the winners of the 2021 Peter Lisagor Awards

May 7, 2022 Mike Ewing 0

The Chicago Headline Club, the nation’s largest chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, presented the 45th annual Peter Lisagor Awards at a reception on May 6. The club also recognized its two newest lifetime achievement award winners – Bill Cameron and Dahleen Glanton – and many past presidents from […]

2021 Watchdog Award winner: ‘Buried Secrets’ by WBEZ

May 6, 2022 Amanda Vinicky 0

The Chicago Headline Club, thanks to the generous support of the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation, offers an annual Watchdog Award for enterprising journalism that defends and protects everyday folks. Our 2021 Winner: “Buried Secrets” – WBEZ. Dan Mihalopoulos, Alex Keefe, Angela Rozas O’Toole Judges said: “The investigation overcame court challenges […]

2020 Watchdog Award winner: ‘Left In the Dark’ by WBBM

May 14, 2021 admin 0

The winner of the Chicago Headline Club’s 2020 Watchdog Award is “Left In the Dark,” by Samah Assad, Christopher Hacker and Dave Savini at WBBM CBS 2. How the team at WBBM described the project: The CBS 2 investigative team had been reporting about the issue of wrongful police raids […]

Stacy St. Clair wins the 2020 Anne Keegan Award

May 7, 2021 Administrator 0

The Anne Keegan award honors journalists who write stories that capture the dignity and spirit of ordinary men and women. It was created in 2012 to honor Anne Keegan, a longtime writer for the Chicago Tribune whose work was distinguished by compassion, character and courage. Her stories often profiled everyday people […]